Sleuth Home - Message Boards - Message Board Game Room


0 0
The Resistance: Battery Boardwalk's Opening Day
  <<First Page  |  <Previous Next>  |  Last Page>>  

The Announcer
The Announcer

May-24-2017 19:07

After years of anticipation, the Battery Boardwalk has finally opened its doors to the general public. The residents of Sleuthville come streaming in through the ticket booth--a line stretching as far as the eye can see. Among those gaining entry is a group of elite detectives with complimentary day passes to the attractions, invited specifically to keep an eye on things. A week prior to opening, the higher-ups at the Boardwalk had received anonymous threats of sabotage and murder if the Boardwalk was not torn down immediately. However, the proprietor was not one to submit to intimidation. Thus, on opening day, a group of highly-ranked detectives were tasked with keeping the park safe.

Unfortunately, there have been rumors floating around that some in the ranks of the elite had been approached by the mysterious threat-maker, and were now working for him to guarantee the day would end in disaster. It is said only those who turned to the dark side knew who the others were; everyone else had to eye each other with suspicion and make their own judgements. Although the team has been compromised, there is no time to vet and assemble another one on such short notice. Yet the day is young and there are plenty of opportunities to ensure opening day is a success.

The detectives’ job this fine day is to make the rounds of the park and keep an eye out for any suspicious or potentially dangerous activities. If opening day goes off without a hitch, the Boardwalk is sure to bring in millions, and the detectives would stand to receive a substantial cut for their services. But if it were to fail, then Sleuthville would be plunged into financial ruin and return to the days of never-ending guilty clients and exorbitant Shady fees. Oh no.

Will the Battery Boardwalk’s grand opening be an unparalleled success, or will it go down in flames accompanied by nothing but the screams of disappointed visitors? Stay tuned to find out in this installment of The Resistance.

Replies

miss snopes
miss snopes
Special Deliverance

Jun-5-2017 17:30

That is how I understood it as well Sal.



Bela Talbot III
Bela Talbot III
Con Artist

Jun-5-2017 23:20

Yeah Sal, if miss snopes uses it, she becomes leader, but the leader after her will still be Zara, not the person on the list after the person from whom leadership was stolen. Of course miss snopes will be leader when she uses the card! :D I was talking about who would be leader after the card has been played and that proposal/mission is done.

Zara Bande
Zara Bande
Bounty Hunter

Jun-6-2017 02:28

Now I understand it better - thanks, Bela.

So if the current team proposal is vetoed and I'm next in line as leader, then miss snopes can take back the leadership for herself and propose the same, or another, team. Sadly I have to say 'no' to this team because I know there is at least one spy on it. Yes, we could be right back where we started in a day or two, but then things would have to play out as 'normal' since the SL card can only be played once.

In the Resistance we are two missions up at the moment, and the spies have only one to their credit. Let's not mess this up guys by handing them Mission 4 and making it an even race.

Sal Iva
Sal Iva
Little Monster

Jun-6-2017 06:42

So Bela, you're saying that Zara could be the leader for two missions in a row? One that she could be relieved off and then get another shot at it. That seems counter intuitive to me. I would think that once she had leadership, her turn would be fulfilled and leadership would pass on as it does in every other instance. I'm not sure that I SEE where the exception comes in. I certainly don't read it anywhere. I take no sides here either, but I know the leadership list doesn't back up any other time. Is this about semantics or substance?

Oh, understand that I'm only using names to make this easier to follow. I have nothing against anyone here. I am getting to know both ladies and I think highly of everyone in this game.



The Announcer
The Announcer

Jun-6-2017 07:38

Okay, let's see if I can clear this up.

1) The holder of STRONG LEADER can only use it *before* a team is proposed by the next person on the mission list. Otherwise they'll have to wait for another opportunity (and the turn order continues as usual).

2) A player only gets to be leader of a team if he/she actually *proposes* a team first. If he/she don't get the chance to propose a team before STRONG LEADER is used to take his/her turn away, then he/she is *not* the leader.

3) After using STRONG LEADER, the list picks up from the player following the one who used the ability. It essentially disrupts the original turn order. We follow this new turn order afterwards.

4) The only way any Player X could be team leader twice in a row is if Player X *both possessed and used* STRONG LEADER to get another turn after having his/her initial turn.

Please let me know if it's still confusing.

Sal Iva
Sal Iva
Little Monster

Jun-6-2017 07:59

I see a semantic answer. In part 1 you say that the card must be used before a team is proposed by the next person on the list, not the leader. It seems to me that the completion of the mission/team proposal before (here) Zara, finishes snopes turn as leader. Are you saying there is a place between the end of one mission and the onset of the next? How can ANYONE relieve a LEADER of their turn, if they haven't had it, haven't become a leader? This, to me is an anachronism, as if time stands still for this one particular event and nothing fills that void. I am no longer disputing the RULING, but I still don't see the explanation of STRONG LEADER as persuasive, but I will accept it.

Bela Talbot III
Bela Talbot III
Con Artist

Jun-6-2017 08:11

Think of it this way: the original leader *is* a leader because it's their turn on the list, but before they get to do anything leader-like (distribute powers, propose a team), they are *overthrown* by the person who uses the STRONG LEADER card. So although it was the original leader's turn to be leader, they were effectively not leader. The only reason we're discussing it is to know who the leader will be *after* the turn of the person who's played the STRONG LEADER card - it'll be the person on the list after the STRONG LEADER card user.

Sal Iva
Sal Iva
Little Monster

Jun-6-2017 08:15

Whoever receives this can use it to immediately become the leader, taking leadership away from the current leader> Current LEADER, seems clear to me that the next person in line MUST be that leader. But regardless, there is a leader away from whom control is taken, not some suspended state without a leader.

Bela Talbot III
Bela Talbot III
Con Artist

Jun-6-2017 08:25

I voted NO to this because I'd like to see another proposal or two before we go on this mission - I don't think I have too much of a problem with this team otherwise. What I really didn't want was people voting YES for no/questionable reason/s and for that to be the reason we went on this mission with that team.

Sal, I'll repeat this: where *do* you stand? I'm asking mostly because of your post on June 5, at 9:42 SST.

The Announcer
The Announcer

Jun-6-2017 08:36

The results of the vote on miss snopes' MISSION 4 Proposal are in.

miss snopes proposed a team of
-miss snopes
-Sal
-Bela

This mission proposal has been REJECTED by a vote of 4-1. The votes are as follows:

Zara Bande NO
Sal Iva NO
Bela Talbot III NO
AspenK NO
miss snopes YES

Leadership will now move onto Zara, unless miss snopes uses STRONG LEADER. miss snopes, would you like to use your ability? *BUT FIRST* to add more confusion to this thread, Bela also has TAKE RESPONSIBILITY, which she can use to steal the STRONG LEADER ability from miss snopes. So Bela, will you be stealing that ability or holding off for now?

  <<First Page  |  <Previous Next>  |  Last Page>>  

[ You must login to reply ]