Sleuth Home - Message Boards - Message Board Game Room


0 0
Resistance: Operation Rose
  <<First Page  |  <Previous Next>  |  Last Page>>  

Molly Maltese
Molly Maltese
Old Shoe

Jul-16-2015 07:37

The New York Police Commissioner has just approved a daring, top secret mission to infiltrate the ranks of La Cosa Nostra and target none other than the fearsome Dona Isabella Santanelli herself. If all goes well, he can collect enough evidence against the Dona to put her away for life and severely cripple the lucrative crime operation.

The only catch? La Cosa Nostra has access to the NYPD’s detective base (no one knows how) and can identify any of their detectives on sight. Because of this, the Police Commissioner has to recruit from some lesser known faces- the private detectives and civilians walking the streets of New York.

Will the Police Commissioner be able to assemble his task force and infiltrate La Cosa Nostra without spy interference from LCN? Or is the mission doomed to fail, and the price fatally steep for all involved? Find out in this game of The Resistance!


Replies

Lady Emerald Devon
Lady Emerald Devon
Nomad

Jul-26-2015 02:46


Ok, I don't get this game at all.

What is the point of this card? The leader receives this, when they know their alliance. But it has to be used on the leader?

If I am a spy then I would give it to fellow spy... useless, redundant card. (And I wouldn't use it on myself as a spy because that would be stupid and still wouldn't make sense)

If I am not a spy, then I could accidentally give it too a spy... useless, redundant card.

So, this doesn't help me (or the resistance really) at all, so I am not sure why it's excellent?

I either accidentally give it to a spy (and they know who is resistance/spies anyway right?) or I get lucky and give it another resistance member which may help them but doesn't help me?











DevilishWings
DevilishWings
Charioteer

Jul-26-2015 02:54

I think the "immediately' in the phrase is not related to having to use the power as soon as you get it. She can keep on to it, use the power on player X and once she does, she immediately gets the info from the game leader. .. That's how I read the power...

Yeti Face
Yeti Face
Pinball Amateur

Jul-26-2015 03:19

I think we'll have to wait for Molly to clarify how she's going to interpret the rules, as she's the game master for this round. However, the powers you can hold tend to be written as, "The player who receives this can", whereas this one is very much, "The player who receives this immediately".

A part of me wants to hold back on going into details about potential power uses in case you are a spy, LED, but even if you are it's a hollow victory if the spies are misinformed. I hope you're not just pretending to be confused as part of some later ploy!

As there are two spies in this game, if you use your power to reveal yourself to your fellow spy then you've linked yourself to them. This can seem particularly weird if you pick a person you've previously had nothing to do with on the player list. Later on, if it emerges you are a spy after all, then the Resistors know the other spy must be the player you linked to earlier on in the game who lied when told your allegiance. So really it's a case of use the power on yourself and try to cover this choice, or use the power on a member of the Resistance and hope you come out on top in the ensuing storm. Awful card for a spy to get.

If you're a true Resistor yourself, then there's two outcomes: a) the card goes to a spy, b) the card goes to a resistor.

a) The spy either has to confirm that you're resistance and increase your rep as true Resistor amongst the others, or lie about your allegiance which effectively outs them to you, and links them to you for the rest of the game.
b) The resistor confirms you are who you say you are. Whilst they may still be a spy, they'll know you are not and will shoot down any missions you're not on - which will ultimately help towards a resistance win.

Regardless of the outcome, it all provides valuable clues for us members of the Resistance to link up and work out who the bad eggs are as the game continues. And that is why it's a valuable power.

Lady Emerald Devon
Lady Emerald Devon
Nomad

Jul-26-2015 04:01

http://i.lvme.me/gj224xt.jpg

I don't think I am very good at this.

Thank you Yeti.
I didn't really think through how someone would have to respond (or not respond which I guess is also information) once given the card. I'm still not convinced how good the card is but I think I get how the game works a bit more now.

Molly, if I can save it I will, I read it the same way Dev did. If it's what Yeti says, well, Yeti can have the card.



DevilishWings
DevilishWings
Charioteer

Jul-26-2015 04:20

Devi, please, Lady Emerald. My own name gets stuck in my throat when I try to read it that way :))

M. Lacrimosa
M. Lacrimosa
Sleuth About Town

Jul-26-2015 06:46

Lady Emerald, you don't truly think I'm a spy, now do you? Because I sipped my coffee? Have you ever chugged or gulped the hot liquid? Lol.

Molly Maltese
Molly Maltese
Old Shoe

Jul-26-2015 06:50

WOOP, I checked on this thread and looks like the rules I had are worded a little strangely:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/643949/establish-confidence

What I take this to mean is that Lady Em actually has to choose a player to reveal her allegiance to, and I will PM that player. This is a lot like Open Up I believe, except that Open Up doesn't necessarily have to be a leader.

Are we in agreement that this play (from now on) will mean that the leader who gives this must reveal their allegiance to a player? If so, that's how we'll proceed. :)

Yeti Face
Yeti Face
Pinball Amateur

Jul-26-2015 07:30

I think it rather comes down to your ruling as games master, Molly. Totally up to you.

Molly Maltese
Molly Maltese
Old Shoe

Jul-26-2015 07:53

Haha, I'll stick the rules in this case. Unfortunately there are a few parts of game play that Serges and Illicit would know best and they are no longer around. So, I say: we follow this rule and Lady Em done gotsa tell someone what her allegiance is.

Yeti Face
Yeti Face
Pinball Amateur

Jul-26-2015 09:53

Ah very good. Do you still want to use the power on me, Leddie?

  <<First Page  |  <Previous Next>  |  Last Page>>  

[ You must login to reply ]